Skip To Main Content


The West Central Indiana Special Service Cooperative (WCISSC) was established in 1973 as required by the Mandatory Special Education Law. The WCISSC serves the following school districts:

     *Crawfordsville Community School Corporation
     *North Montgomery Community School Corporation
     *South Montgomery Community School Corporation

The Cooperative is authorized under the following sources:
     *Joint School Service and Supply Act of 1965, Chapter 272, Acts of 1965.
     *I.E. 20-5-11-2, 3, 4 (Source: Chapter 292, Acts of 1965)
     *Chapter 177, Acts of 1969 (Mandatory Special Education Act of 1969)
     *I.E. 20-1-6-14-15-16 (Source: Chapter 396, Acts of 1969)
     *I.E. 20-5-11-1 (Source: Senate Enrolled Act 165, Acts of 1971)

The purpose and intent of this joint service program is to operate programs to serve all children with disabilities as defined by Article 7 of the Indiana Department of Education.

The administering school corporation is Crawfordsville Community Schools, and as administrative and fiscal agent for the joint service program, it maintains the Joint Service and Supply Fund and receives and disburses in accordance with the provisions of the written agreement.

The Co-op provides administrative, psychological, consultative, and related services to the participating school districts.