Return to Headlines

Nicholson contest winners ride the fire truck

Poster winners ride the fire truck

Fire poster display

Nicholson Elementary spent time recently learning about fire safety and fire prevention. This year’s theme was “Fire Won’t Wait, Plan Your Escape.”

After understanding the need for an evacuation plan, students were challenged to a poster contest that illustrated their fire escape plan and what to do in case of a fire.

Entries were hung in the hallways and both Nicholson staff and a few firefighters voted for their favorite posters.

The winners were very excited for the grand prize of riding a fire truck to school. This year’s winners were (top photo, left to right) Avery Sarver, Bronson Fergason, Aimee Kimbro, and Emma Bishop. Also joining them in the picture are firemen Chief Busenbark and  Jason Starcher.

Thank you to the Crawfordsville Fire Department for your participation and for the winners’ ride to school.