Return to Headlines

CCSC Schools Receive IAN Quality Badge

The Crawfordsville Community School Corporation always has a lot to be proud of and most recently, it is because of the excellent after school programs that all elementaries and middle school offer to our students.

Hose Elementary and Crawfordsville Middle School both received the Quality Digital Badge while Hoover and Nicholson Elementaries earned the Quality and Literacy Badge. These badges are honorary awards from the Indiana Afterschool Network (IAN) which is partially funded by the Indiana Department of Education.

To receive these awards, CCSC staff members work with Indiana Afterschool Network to establish standards for the programs and perform a thorough evaluation and questionnaire process of the strengths and weaknesses of each site. The evaluation provides an honest look at ways to improve the program at each school. This process and submission of reports demonstrates the efforts to meet the program standards and why all the programs received the Quality Badge.

“The badge shows that we have turned in all reports in a timely manner and that we continue to strive to meet quality standards,’ said Hoover Student Support Coordinator Deneen Bartlett, ‘The evaluation process helps us see where we can continue to make changes to improve our after school programming.’”

The attention to detail and evaluations has clearly led to great success. In addition to the Quality Badges, both Hoover and Nicholson have earned the Literacy badge. The literacy focus demonstrates additional requirements to reading, writing, language, and vocabulary. The activities are not replicated activities from the school-day, but additional exercises to complement what is taught in the classroom.

It is certainly a team effort with Bartlett overseeing the program and each school building has site coordinators. At the middle school, they are Cindy Pierce and Chastity French. Hoover Site Coordinators are Anita Harris and Ann Stanley with Trisha Whicker as the Discovery Club Coordinator. The Nicholson Site Coordinator is Kristi Jones with Laura Newman as Discovery Club Coordinator and Hose Site Coordinator is Diamond Deacon with Andrew Swank as the Discovery Club Coordinator.