Return to Headlines

Crawfordsville boasts rich history of Lilly scholars

Recently the Montgomery County Community Foundation announced that Crawfordsville High School student Marshall Horton is the 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar for Montgomery County, adding another winner to the list of Crawfordsville High School students who have received it.

With impressive requirements and criteria to apply for the scholarship, the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides full tuition, required fees, and up to $900 each year for required books and equipment for the student’s full-time undergraduate Indiana college or university of their choice.

Horton said of the honor, “I am beyond blessed and am truly thankful to the Montgomery County Community Foundation and Lilly Endowment itself for providing me with this opportunity. There were countless deserving candidates, and I feel truly lucky to be selected and am humbled by the Community Foundation’s generosity. I am surrounded by amazing teachers, coaches, and friends and a loving family who truly share in this honor, and I could not possibly have become the person I am without their unwavering support.”

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship began in the 1998-99 school year and Montgomery County’s first recipient was CHS’ Matt Locker, who went on to Purdue University. 
CHS students have continued to make their mark over the last 23 years. Since it began, LECS has awarded scholarships to 41 Montgomery County students and 24 of those have been Crawfordsville Athenians. Up until 2008, there were often multiple scholarships given with as many as three per year. 

To apply for the Lilly scholarship, students must be a resident of Montgomery County, have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.85 on a 4.00 scale, and be in the top 10% of their graduating class at an accredited Montgomery County high school. Applicants are evaluated on their academic achievements, student leadership and activities, and two essay responses. The work doesn’t end there though as finalists must then complete two interviews with the Board of Directors of the Foundation. The remaining finalists’ information is then handed to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. for the final selection.


1999- Matt Locker - Purdue University
2000- Caitlyn (Bates) Prucinsky - Butler University
2001- Andrew Twarek - Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
2001- Abraham Lucas - Wabash College
2001- Amber (Mullendore) Miklos - Purdue University
2002- Tracy (Servies) Burger - Indiana Wesleyan University
2002- Whitney (Janssen) Camp - Purdue University
2003- Nathan Mullendore - Wabash College
2004- Christina (Holmstrom) Valenzuela - Univ. of Notre Dame
2004- Luke Miller - Depauw University
2005- Lauren Mummert - University of Notre Dame
2006- Stephanie Holstrom- Kung - Indiana University
2006- Kendra McPheeters - Purdue University
2007- Leah Myhre - Indiana University
2007- Anastasia (Yesnik) Yi - Indiana University
2008- Justin Wright - Purdue University
2009- Sarah Robertson - Valparaiso University
2012- Samuel Vaught - Wabash College
2013- Amit Nag - Indiana University
2014- Lyndsy (Johnson) Eslinger CHS Univ. of Indianapolis
2015- Lacey Garrett - Taylor University
2017- Cali (Saunders) House - Taylor University
2018- Madison Wendelin -Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
2022- Marshall Horton - University of Notre Dame